Two Connecticut residents returning from coronavirus hotspot states — one from Florida, the other Louisiana — have been fined for violating the state’s travel advisory.
The residents were fined $1,000 for not filling out the public health form required of passengers landing at Bradley International Airport, and the traveler from Louisiana was fined another $1,000 for refusing to self-quarantine for 14 days, Hartford Business Journal reports.
Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont said the state wanted to send a message that officials are serious about the new public health order.
“I hate to do it, but we’re going to be serious and show people we are serious about this, and to date it’s made a difference,” he said, as reported by the Journal.
The travel restriction, which went live on Aug. 4, requires that anyone traveling to Connecticut from a state with a new daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average, self-quarantine for two weeks.
In Massachusetts, Gov. Charlie Baker’s administration implemented a similar order fining residents $500 if they do not fill a form attesting that they’ve received a negative COVID-19 test result or completed a 14-day quarantine before arrival.
(c)2020 MassLive.com, Springfield, Mass.
Visit MassLive.com, Springfield, Mass. at www.masslive.com
Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.
This content is published through a licensing agreement with Acquire Media using its NewsEdge technology.