The Trump administration is sending a message to illegal aliens with criminal records — and to their native countries that refuse to take them back: The days of ineffectual deportation diplomacy are over.

The administration has issued visa sanctions, halting visas in at least some categories, against four recalcitrant countries that have thumbed their noses at attempted U.S. deportations of their citizens. Those countries are Sierra Leone, Cambodia, Eritrea and Guinea, according to The Washington Times.

Under Section 243(d) of the immigration code, the government has the authority to strip visas from those countries that have no desire to reclaim their thuggish citizens from the United States. Unfortunately, the visa option was treated as a last resort by Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama, each of whom utilized it only once.

President Trump has made it clear that he won’t be as restrained. As a result, the list of nations refusing deportations from the U.S. dropped from 20 at the end of last year to 12 in May, The Times reports.

Nevertheless, the most recalcitrant nations, Cuba and China — with respectively 35,000 and 1,900 citizens awaiting deportation — still aren’t welcoming home their own.

The Trump administration has considerably more work to do to convince these and other nations that America is not the world’s dumping ground for unwanted citizens.


This content is published through a licensing agreement with Acquire Media using its NewsEdge technology.

No votes yet.
Please wait...